Supporting health through research and education.

BSc Dentistry Summer Student Program

Photo of a student Dentist

Alex Serebnitski,
Dental Student

The Bachelor of Science in Dentistry Summer Student Program in the College of Dentistry encourages interested dental students to undertake research during their undergraduate careers. The MMSF is a major contributor of funding for this program.

The specific aim is for students to acquire knowledge and skills in research design and methodology, including experimental design, hypothesis testing, critical evaluation of data, and effective communication of findings. Through active participation in a research program, the students are given the opportunity to develop the skills necessary to apply scientific knowledge to dental practices and to develop an interest in dental research. The student carries out research in either the basic sciences or in a clinical area under the supervision of a faculty member.

The program lasts for two summer terms and runs during the summer breaks after first and second year dental school. All students receive stipendiary support, presently $5,000.

The MMSF currently provides stipendiary support to this program. Since 1994 the MMSF has contributed $560,000 to this program.

After the second summer term and completion of his/her research, the student is required to make an oral presentation and to submit a final report. In addition, the program provides the student with an additional qualification that will serve to facilitate entry by the graduate into various advanced degree and specialty programs.

2021 Students

photo of 2020 students

2020 Students

photo of 2020 students

2019 Students


2019 Students
Front row left to right: Chanelle Holder, Stefan Mezibroski, Amanda Finch, Monir Horriat, Daniella Battaglia, Miguel Cabuhat, Derek Oryniak, Morgan Winchar, Aarushi Dhawan and Aaron Quach
Back row left to right: Nicole Bailey, Nina Cianflone, Hollie Van Nest, Harry Manghera, Ji Hun Han, Karm Bath, Noah Corso, Bassam Abas

2018 Students


2018 Students - Class Photo
Front Row (left to right): Nicole Bailey, Daniella Battaglia, Amanda Finch, Chanelle Holder, Israa Elgazzar, Dmitry Mikhlin (kneeling down), Hollie Van Nest, Noah Corso, Karm Bath, Derek Oryniak, Tatiana Pribytkova
Back Row (left to right): Yasmin Elzayat, Monir Horriat, Catherine Long, Nina Cianflone, Morgan Winchar, Allison Torbiak, Stella Korowski, Ji Hun Han, Miguel Cabuhat, Harry Singh, Paul Ricard

2017 Students


2017 Students - Class Photo
(L-R) Karm Bath; Noah Corso; Israa Elgazzar; Ji Jun Han; Natasha Holder; Stella Korowski;
Catherine Long; Dmitry Mikhlin; Tatianan Pribytkova; Paul Ricard; Natalie Rosenthal; Nader Shaker;
Harry Singh; Shelly Tang; Allison Torbiak; Jeanne Trinh

2016 Students


2016 Students - Class Photo
(L-R) Saba Naghipur; Sunny Virdi; Justin Silverstein; Jodie Christensen;
Brady Brinkman; Michael Rodillo

2015 Students


2015 Students - Class Photo
Back: (L-R) Victor Gong; Gurinder Boparai; Bryan DiMarco; Zhendan Pan; Tyler Sobotkiewicz
Front: (L-R) Manon Foidart, Tim Lou, Lindsay Robertson

2014 Students


2014 Students - Class Photo
Back: (L-R) Justin Diamond; Artiom Margolin; Ryan Howard; David Truong
Middle: (L-R) Christopher Ward; Melissa Phaneuf; Lisha Mehta; Niza Sinkala
Front: Stephani Cooney

2013 Students

  • Manon Foidart
  • Carly Hamilton
  • Zhendan Pan
  • Lindsay Robertson
  • Michael Rodillo

Go back to the beginning: Award Recipients