Supporting health through research and education.

MMSF Shaun Lamoureux and Kerry Bittner Clinical Research Professorship in Population Health Award

Photo of Mr. J. Henson.

Mr. Kerry Bittner

Photo of Mr. J. Henson.

Mr. Shaun Lamoureux

Previously the MMSF John Henson Clinical Research Professorship in Population Health, this award was renamed in 2021 to the MMSF Shaun Lamoureux and Kerry Bittner Clinical Research Professorship in Population Health. This award commemorates the legacies of the late Shaun Lamoureux and Kerry Bittner. The annual amount of salary support was also increased in 2021 from $50,000 to $55,000* annually.

Shaun Lamoureux will be remembered for his strong leadership and his dedication to Manitoba Blue Cross and the MMSF. He was Chief Financial and Technology Officer and Vice President at Manitoba Blue Cross for many years. In 2018, he was appointed President and CEO.

Over his 18 years with Manitoba Blue Cross, Shaun’s business acumen, strategic vision and commitment to excellence played a significant role in the growth and development of the company. He was an avid supporter of the Foundation and provided many years of valued financial and business advice.

Kerry Bittner started his career with Manitoba Blue Cross in 1976 working in the sales department. He served as President and CEO from 1983 until his retirement in 2003. He also served on the MMSF Board of Directors for 33 years.

Kerry was an exceptionally kind man – a true leader who had the ability to make everyone comfortable. He will be fondly remembered for being a true ambassador for the Colour of Caring and a generous supporter of the Foundation.

Both Shaun and Kerry believed strongly in improving the health and well-being of all Manitobans, and this professorship supports their beliefs.

To date, the MMSF has provided support for this award totaling $1,030,000.

Award Guidelines

  1. The award is given for a period of three years, during which the MMSF will contribute $55,000* per year towards the salary (including benefits) of the awardee. A one-year term grant-in-aid to the appointee of up to $20,000 may be made during the first year of the appointment.
  2. Candidates must be physicians or health care professionals licensed to practice in Manitoba and have a faculty appointment at the University of Manitoba. Applicants must be engaged in research related to population health in Manitoba. During the tenure of the award, the awardee must guarantee a 50 per cent time commitment to research.
  3. To be successful in this competition, a candidate must be judged to be in the early stages of a productive research career as a health clinician or scientist studying population health issues. The candidate should have been engaged in independent research for not more than seven years since an academic appointment with the University of Manitoba, should have received one or more grants from a national granting agency – such as the Canadian Institutes of Health Research – and should have a satisfactory publication record in peer-reviewed journals. This judgment will also include a review of the candidate’s training, qualifications and experience, and the support of letters of reference. A candidate will also be judged on clarity and communication through a written research submission and a brief presentation and response to questions with the Award review panel.
  4. The intent of the award is to attract and retain clinicians into population health research at the University of Manitoba for the general benefit of health research in Manitoba and to advance the research career of the awardee
  5. An awardee is not eligible for the MMSF Shaun Lamoureux and Kerry Bittner Clinical Research Professorship Award in Population Medicine for a second three-year term.
  6. The award cannot be held concurrently with another personal career award.
  7. An awardee who receives the MMSF Shaun Lamoureux and Kerry Bittner Clinical Research in Population Medicine Award is not eligible for other MMSF Salary awards.

*The salary increases from $50,000 to $55,000 per year becomes effective with the commencement of new appointments awarded after April 15, 2021. The salary increase does not apply to ongoing career awards appointed prior to April 15, 2021.

**The Manitoba Medical Service Foundation and the Manitoba Health Research Council cooperatively funded the 2010-2013 and the 2011-2014 Clinical Research Professorships in Population Health.